WKOW wins Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Award - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

WKOW wins Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Award


NEW YORK (WKOW) -- Thirteen winners of the Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards were announced Wednesday by Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism.

Eight of this year's recipients feature investigative reporting including stories from ABC News and CBS News. Five local television stations will be honored, including WKOW. For the first time, a multimedia story from a print-based news organization will win a duPont Award. The Las Vegas Sun will be honored for multimedia reporting on gambling addiction.

 "This extraordinary group of duPont winners represents the best in broadcast journalism. Each story brings something unique to the journalism process," said Cooper, outgoing duPont Jury chair and director of the Broadcasting Program at the Journalism School. "Despite the economic challenges and rapid changes facing the news industry, this year's powerful and innovative winners show that broadcast news continues to have an important and vital place in people's lives and in society at large."

CBS News' "60 Minutes" will be honored for an in-depth investigation of the accident on the Deepwater Horizon produced just weeks after the explosion, and ABC News' "20/20" for their investigation into a government agency's failure to protect dozens of young female swimmers from abusive coaches. KCET, Los Angeles was selected for three stories exposing elected representatives who don't do their jobs on local, state and federal levels.

International reporting such as stellar breaking news coverage of the earthquake in Haiti from BBC News America, an eye-opening documentary about the Taliban from FRONTLINE on PBS, and a personal documentary about access to healthcare on POV will also be honored with duPont Awards. Other winners include NPR's revelatory look at the bail bonds system, and West Virginia Public Broadcasting's stunning historic radio documentary about multiculturalism. The Las Vegas Sun will also be honored for an engaging interactive report on compulsive gambling.

Local television winners KING-TV, Seattle exposed corruption in the ferry system, 9News/KUSA-TV, Denver relentlessly investigated a noxious scam, WKOW-TV, Madison produced a series of reports on official incompetence and WTHR-TV, Indianapolis doggedly pursued a powerful local agency.

Brian Williams, NBC News anchor and managing editor, and Soledad O'Brien, CNN anchor and special correspondent, will host the duPont Awards ceremony on Thursday, January 20, 2011, at Columbia University's Low Memorial Library.

The duPont Jury also announced changes to the board. Emily Bell, the director of the Journalism School's Tow Center for Digital Journalism, is joining the duPont Jury. Bell was the director of digital content for Britain's Guardian News and Media from 2006-2010 and editor-in-chief of Guardian Unlimited from 2001-2006.

Ann Cooper, coordinator of the broadcast department at the Journalism School, is stepping down as Jury chair. Bill Wheatley, former executive vice president of NBC News and adjunct faculty member, is the new duPont Jury chair. Learn more about the Jury and the selection process here.

The Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards honoring excellence in broadcast journalism were established in 1942 by Jessie Ball duPont in memory of her husband, Alfred I. duPont. With his cousins, Mr. duPont transformed their gunpowder company into the chemical company E.I. duPont de Nemours. He later created a successful financial institution in Florida and was owner of a chain of small-town newspapers in Delaware.

The duPont Awards, administered since 1968 by Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism, are considered to be the most prestigious broadcast journalism awards and the equivalent of the Pulitzer Prizes, which are also administered at the Journalism School.

Learn more about the Alfred I. duPont-Columbia University Awards for excellence in broadcast journalism at www.dupontawards.org.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WKOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Anna Engelhart at 608-661-2767. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.