UW-Whitewater women win 3rd straight WIAC title - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

UW-Whitewater women win 3rd straight WIAC title


MADISON, Wis.--University of Wisconsin-Whitewater captured its third consecutive Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (WIAC) women’s tennis championship following completion of the two-day event that was held at Nielsen Tennis Stadium on Oct. 24-25.


The league crown for the Warhawks is the 10th in program history and first time a team has claimed three straight first-place trophies since UW-Eau Claire won 10 consecutive titles from 1993-2002.  UW-Whitewater totaled 21 points in the final overall championship standings to surpass UW-La Crosse’s second-place total of 18, UW-Eau Claire was third with 15, UW-Stevens Point fourth with 12, UW-River Falls fifth with nine, UW-Oshkosh sixth with six and UW-Stout seventh with three.


UW-Eau Claire, UW-La Crosse, UW-Stevens Point and UW-Whitewater advance to a team tournament to decide the conference’s automatic qualifier for the NCAA Division III Championship.  The WIAC team tournament will be held at UW-Whitewater the weekend prior to the NCAA championship in the spring.


The team title was determined using a combination of the regular season dual meet standings and the conference championship results.  The finish in the regular season standings accounted for one-third of the criteria, while the WIAC championship accounted for the remaining two-thirds.


Point distribution following the dual meet rotation included:  UW-Whitewater (6-0) (7 points), UW-La Crosse (5-1) (6 points), UW-Eau Claire (4-2) (5 points), UW-Stevens Point (3-3) (4 points), UW-River Falls (2-4) (3 points), UW-Oshkosh (1-5) (2 points) and UW-Stout (0-6) (1 point).

Powered by Frankly