Medal of Honor Society to honor Newtown educators - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Medal of Honor Society to honor Newtown educators


NEWTOWN (WKOW) – The Congressional Medal of Honor Society is in Newtown, Connecticut, to honor six educators with its highest civilian award after they were killed in the December elementary school massacre.

The society says Rachel D'Avino, Dawn Hochsprung, Anne Marie Murphy, Lauren Rousseau, Mary Sherlach and Victoria Soto demonstrated courage, sacrifice and selflessness in trying to protect students from the gunman at Sandy Hook Elementary School.

The women's families will be presented with the Citizen Honors Medal during a ceremony Monday afternoon at Newtown High School.

The organization, which is made up of Medal of Honor recipients, will also present its Certificate of Commendation to all of the other teachers and staff at the Sandy Hook Elementary School.

Powered by Frankly