Ron Dayne elected to College Football Hall of Fame - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Ron Dayne elected to College Football Hall of Fame

Courtesy Courtesy

MADISON (WKOW) -- The National Football Foundation announced Tuesday morning that University of Wisconsin great Ron Dayne will be immortalized as part of the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2013.

"I'm very excited and thrilled to be mentioned with the greatest names in college football history," Dayne said in a statement on "This is a tremendous honor for me and the university. As with everything in my career, I see this as a team honor and something I never could have achieved without my teammates and coaches."

Dayne finished his Badgers' career as college football's all-time leading rusher with 6,397 career rushing yards, most in FBS history. He became the second Badger to win the Heisman Trophy.

Dayne helped the team win back-to-back Big Ten titles and Rose Bowl championships in 1998 and 1999, earning Bowl MVP honors in both of those games.

Nine former Badgers' players and two coaches have now been elected to the College Football Hall of Fame. The most recent inductee was Dayne's former coach, Barry Alvarez, who was a member of the 2010 class.

Dayne and the rest of this year's class will be inducted at the 56th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 10, 2013, in New York City.

Powered by Frankly