Badgers finalize football series with LSU - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Badgers finalize football series with LSU


MADISON (UW Athletics) - After months of speculation, it is finally official. The Wisconsin football team will face LSU in the AdvoCare Texas Kickoff on Aug. 30, 2014 at Reliant Stadium in Houston, Texas. The game is the final missing piece to the Badgers' 2014 schedule, which is now complete.

"This is a tremendous opportunity for us to open next season against one of the best programs in the country," UW head coach Gary Andersen said. "We want to compete at the highest level and on a national stage and this game is a great example of that."
The game will be played in prime time and televised nationally on an ESPN network. Reliant Stadium is the home to the NFL's Houston Texans. The Texans currently have four former Wisconsin players on their roster, including 2012 NFL Defensive Player of the Year J.J. Watt.
Wisconsin and LSU have played twice previously, with the Tigers prevailing both times. LSU won, 38-28, on Sept. 25, 1971 at Camp Randall Stadium and was victorious again the following season, 27-7, in Baton Rouge. The 1972 game marks the last time UW played an SEC team during the regular season.
The 2014 game vs. LSU will be the first of two neutral-site season-openers against high-profile SEC teams for the Badgers. UW will kick off the 2015 season against Alabama at Cowboys Stadium.
Complete 2014 Schedule
Aug. 30                 vs. LSU
                                Reliant Stadium, Houston, Texas
Sept. 6                  Western Illinois
Sept. 13                BYE
Sept. 20                Bowling Green
Sept. 27                USF
Oct. 4                    at Northwestern
Oct. 11                  ILLINOIS
Oct. 18                  BYE
Oct. 25                  MARYLAND
Nov. 1                   at Rutgers
Nov. 8                   at Purdue
Nov. 15                 NEBRASKA
Nov. 22                 at Iowa
Nov. 29                 MINNESOTA
Dec. 6                    Big Ten Championship Game
                                Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis, Ind.
Powered by Frankly