UW's Alvarez selected for College Football Playoff selection com - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

UW's Alvarez selected for College Football Playoff selection committee


MADISON, WI (WKOW) -- Wisconsin Athletic Director and Hall of Fame coach Barry Alvarez has officially been selected as a member of the first ever College Football Playoff selection committee.

Alvarez is one of 13 members on the committee that will pick the four teams that will compete in the playoffs following the 2014 regular season.

Arkansas athletic director Jeff Long has been chosen the first chairman of the committee.

Alvarez and Long are two of five current athletic directors on the committee, along with West Virginia's Oliver Luck, Clemson's Dan Radakovich and Southern California's Pat Haden.

Also on the committee are former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, retired Lt. Gen Michael Gould, former Big East Commissioner Mike Tranghese, former Nebraska coach Tom Osborne, former Notre Dame coach Tyrone Willingham, former NFL and Mississippi quarterback Archie Manning, and former NCAA vice president Tom Jernstedt.

Powered by Frankly