Warhawks' Pat Miller tabbed National Coach of the Year - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Warhawks' Pat Miller tabbed National Coach of the Year

Posted: Updated:
WHITEWATER, WI (WKOW) -- Pat Miller, head coach of the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, is the National Association of Basketball Coaches UPS Division III Coach of the Year for the 2013-2014 season. 

Miller guided UW-W to the NCAA Division III championship, winning the title with a 75-73 win over Williams College March 22 at the Salem Civic Center in Salem, Virginia.  He directed the Warhawks to a 29-4 record overall, including a 13-3 mark and second place in the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.  Whitewater earned an at-large berth in the NCAA III tournament, where the team reeled off five wins before topping Williams.  UW-W opened tourney play with a 79-55 win over Northwestern College (MN), followed by an 87-68 home court win over Augustana College (IL).  In the sectional semifinal the Warhawks defeated the University of Texas-Dallas 81-63, and earned a berth in the final four with a 74-51 win over Emory University.  A 71-63 win over Illinois Wesleyan University in the national semifinal in Salem preceded the title-clinching win over Williams.

The twenty-nine wins this season equals the school record for victories, tying the 1988-89 and 2011-12 UW-W teams.  Miller also had a hand in both of those teams, as a starting guard in the '89 team and coaching the team two years ago, giving him a role in three of Whitewater's four national basketball championships. 

Miller has been UW-W's head coach for thirteen years, compiling a 291-83 record.  That is a .778 winning percentage and an average of more than twenty-two wins per season.  Over that span the Warhawks have finished among the top three teams in the WIAC eleven times, including five league titles, and earned NCAA III postseason berths seven times, all within the last nine years. 

Miller recently was honored as the D3hoops.com Coach of the Year and the Schelde DIII News Coach of the Year. He also garnered the three national honors after leading the Warhawks to the 2012 NCAA III championship.

The NABC, with 5,000 members, was founded in 1927. 
Powered by Frankly