Sharon Corrigan is new Dane County Board Chair - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Sharon Corrigan is new Dane County Board Chair

Posted: Updated:
MADISON (WKOW) -- Three new Dane County Board members were sworn in today and the board elected a new chair.

Supervisor Sharon Corrigan of Middleton is the new Chair of the Dane County Board, with outgoing chair John Hendrick choosing not to seek another term in that position. She is just the second woman ever elected to the post.

Dane County Executive Joe Parisi issued the following statement regarding the election of Corrigan as chairwoman:

“Chair Corrigan’s effective leadership on the county board, most recently as Chair of the Personnel and Finance Committee, affirms that collaboration is key to an effective government that reflects the values of our residents.  

“I look forward to continuing to work with Chair Corrigan and her colleagues on the Dane County Board, to address our shared challenges and strengthen our communities – be it maintaining the state’s most comprehensive human services safety net for our most vulnerable citizens, addressing racial disparities in the workforce and our criminal justice system, or cleaning up our lakes.

“I extend my sincere congratulations to Chair Corrigan, Vice Chair Supervisor Carousel Bayrd and Second Vice Chair Supervisor Kyle Richmond on earning the well placed trust of their colleagues to lead the Dane County Board in the coming years.”

Most Viewed Content

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WKOW. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Anna Engelhart at 608-661-2767. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at