Wisconsin wins Big Ten men’s Cross Country title - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Wisconsin wins Big Ten men’s Cross Country title

Posted: Updated:
IOWA CITY, Iowa – Wisconsin won its 47th Big Ten Men's Cross Country Championship on Sunday after claiming the top two finishes at the Ashton Cross Country Course.

The Badgers' Malachy Schrobilgen finished first individually for the second straight year, crossing the 8K finish line in a time of 23:35. Schrobilgen becomes the first back-to-back individual winner since Minnesota's Hassan Mead in 2008 and 2009. Wisconsin's Michael Van Voorhis placed second with a time of 23:37.6. The Badgers collected 47 team points en route to their first title since 2012.

Michigan placed second in the team standings with 77 points after Mason Ferlic finished fourth, while Penn State secured a third-place finish.

The Big Ten Cross Country Championships will air on BTN via tape-delay at 5 p.m. ET on Wednesday, Nov. 12.

Powered by Frankly