Gordon named Maxwell Award semifinalist - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Gordon named Maxwell Award semifinalist

Posted: Updated:
MADISON, Wis. – Wisconsin junior running back Melvin Gordon was named one of 20 semifinalists for the 2014 Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year, Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced Monday. Gordon, who was also a semifinalist last year, is one of just four players to have been selected for the list in each of the last two seasons.

Gordon has rushed for 1,296 yards this season, ranking second in the country with 162.0 rushing yards per game. He went over the 1,000-yard mark in just the Badgers' sixth game this season, becoming the fastest UW player in history to reach the 1,000-yard plateau. His 19 touchdowns put him in a tie for second nationally.

Gordon is currently the NCAA career leader in yards per carry, averaging 7.86 yards per rush, including 7.49 this season. He leads the country this season In runs of 20+ (18) and 40+ (9) yards while ranking second in runs of 30+ (11) and 50+ (6) yards. He has rushed for more than 100 yards in seven of eight games this season and is averaging an astounding 179.7 yards per game against FBS competition this year.

Gordon joins Marcus Mariota of Oregon, Bryce Petty of Baylor and Jameis Winston of Florida State as the only players to be named Maxwell Award semifinalists in each of the last two seasons.

The Badgers have had a Maxwell Award semifinalist each year since 2011 with Gordon joining Russell Wilson (2011) and Montee Ball (2012). The only other teams that have had a Maxwell Award semifinalist in each of the last four years are Alabama and Oregon.

Gordon is one of four Big Ten players on the Maxwell list, joining Ameer Abdullah of Nebraska, Tevin Coleman of Indiana and Connor Cook of Michigan State. There are six running backs on the list: Gordon, Abdullah, Coleman, Javarious Allen (USC), James Connor (Pittsburgh) and Duke Johnson (Miami).

Powered by Frankly