Badgers part of 2016 EA SPORTS Maui Invitational Field - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Badgers part of 2016 EA SPORTS Maui Invitational Field

Posted: Updated:
MADISON, Wis. – Just days before preparing to tip off in the Bahamas at the Battle 4 Atlantis, the Wisconsin men's basketball team learned it has another premier non-conference tournament in store when it takes part in the 2016 EA SPORTS Maui Invitational.

The EA SPORTS Maui Invitational unveiled the Championship Round for the 2016 tournament, which showcases a field of national champions, coaching royalty and iconic programs that will compete for the Wayne Duke Championship Trophy. From Nov. 21-23, the famed Lahaina Civic Center will play host to the Badgers, as well as Chaminade, Connecticut, Georgetown, North Carolina, Oklahoma State, Oregon and Tennessee.

The 2016 field has combined for 14 national championships, including six squads that have won at least one NCAA title, and 35 Final Four appearances. Last season, both Connecticut and Wisconsin advanced to the Final Four. Seven of the eight participating teams earned NCAA tournament berths.

Two of college basketball's active coaching leaders with more than 700 victories each, North Carolina's Roy Williams and Wisconsin's Bo Ryan, are slated to take part in the 2016 Tournament.

The participating programs have combined for 160 conference championships.

The Badgers are set to make their third all-time appearance in the EA SPORTS Maui Invitational. They hold a combined 3-3 all-time mark having competed in the 1995 and 2009 events.

The Maui trip will mark Wisconsin's ninth tropical location tournament in a period of 11 years. UW is set to tip off this week at the 2014 Battle 4 Atlantis in the Bahamas, after appearing in the Cancun Challenge last season. Wisconsin has also participated in the Las Vegas Invitational (2012), the Old Spice Classic in Orlando, Florida (2011), the Maui Invitational (2009), the Paradise Jam in the Virgin Islands (2005, 2008) and the South Padre (Texas) Invitational (2006).

Powered by Frankly