Gordon named Big Ten running back of the year - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Gordon named Big Ten running back of the year

Posted: Updated:

MADISON (WKOW) -- Wisconsin Badgers running back Melvin Gordon took the Big Ten Conference's top honor for a running back, being named the Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year.

Gordon broke the Big Ten's single season rushing record Saturday against Minnesota, so he now has 2,260 yards and 29 total touchdowns with two games to play.

It's the third time in the past four years a Badger running back has captured the honor. Montee Ball won the award in 2011 and 2012.

Here's a list of the other award winners:

Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year: J.T. Barrett, Ohio State
Named for Purdue's Bob Griese and Drew Brees

Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year: Tony Lippett, Michigan State
Named for Wisconsin's Pat Richter and Michigan's Desmond Howard

Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year: Melvin Gordon, Wisconsin
Named for Wisconsin's Alan Ameche and Ron Dayne

Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year: Maxx Williams, Minnesota
Named for Penn State's Ted Kwalick and Iowa's Dallas Clark

Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year: Brandon Scherff, Iowa
Named for Nebraska's Dave Rimington and Ohio State's Orlando Pace

Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year: Joey Bosa, Ohio State
Named for Michigan State's Bubba Smith and Penn State's Courtney Brown

Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year: Mike Hull, Penn State
Named for Illinois' Dick Butkus and Northwestern's Pat Fitzgerald

Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year: Kurtis Drummond, Michigan State
Named for Ohio State's Jack Tatum and Purdue's Rod Woodson

Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year: Brad Craddock, Maryland
Named for Wisconsin's Jim Bakken and Michigan State's Morten Andersen

Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year: Peter Mortell, Minnesota
Named for Illinois' Dike Eddleman and Michigan State's Brandon Fields

Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian Award: Brian Griese, Michigan
Named for Minnesota's Tony Dungy and Indiana's Anthony Thompson

Ford-Kinnick Leadership Award: Mike Hopkins, Illinois
Named for Michigan's Gerald Ford and Iowa's Nile Kinnick

Powered by Frankly