Thorpe Award latest to add Caputo to watch list - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Thorpe Award latest to add Caputo to watch list

Posted: Updated:
Badgers football Badgers football

MADISON, Wis. -- Watch lists for three national defensive awards have been revealed over the last week, and Michael Caputo’s name has appeared on all three.

The Wisconsin senior safety added another preseason honor to his growing resume on Monday when he was named to the 2015 watch list for the Jim Thorpe Award, which is presented annually to the nation’s top defensive back.

Caputo has also been announced on the watch lists for the Bednarik Award and Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

A second-team All-American last season, Caputo led all Badgers with 106 total tackles and recorded 6.0 tackles for loss. He has already been named a team captain for the Badgers for 2015.

He is one of three Big Ten players on the Thorpe Award watch list, joining Ohio State’s Vonn Bell and Maryland’s William Likely. In all, 42 players earned a spot on the list.

The Jim Thorpe Award was established in 1986 and is named after history’s greatest all-around athlete, Jim Thorpe. Thorpe excelled as a running back, passer and kicker on the offensive side of the ball, but also stood out as a defensive back. In addition to his legendary performance on the football field, Thorpe played professional baseball and won Olympic gold medals in the decathlon and pentathlon.

The Jim Thorpe Award watch list is chosen by a screening committee who compile a list of 30-50 players. The list is not final, and players who have outstanding seasons are added as the season progresses. The Thorpe Award winner is selected from three finalists and will be announced at The Home Depot College Football Awards on Dec. 10, live on ESPN.

The Jim Thorpe Award Banquet will be held Feb. 2 in Oklahoma City.

2015 Preseason Watch Lists

• Vince Biegel (OLB): Bednarik, Nagurski

• Michael Caputo (S): Bednarik, Nagurski, Thorpe

• Corey Clement (RB): Maxwell

• Rafael Gaglianone (K): Groza

• Dan Voltz (C): Outland, Rimington

Powered by Frankly