Schobert named Big Ten Linebacker of the Year - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Schobert named Big Ten Linebacker of the Year

Posted: Updated:
Badgers football Badgers football

The Badgers have had the top-ranked defense in the Big Ten this season. So, it's only fitting they had several players honored in the conference postseason award lists. Joe Schobert took home the biggest honor by being named the Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year.

Schobert was also a consensus first-team All-Big Ten selection. The senior has racked up 18.5 tackles for loss, 9.5 sacks and has tied the school single-season record with five forced fumbles. He is the second Badger to be named the top linebacker in the conference. The other was Chris Borland in 2013.

Michael Caputo took home second-team All-Big Ten honors for the second straight year. The senior safety has two interceptions and two forced fumbles to go along with six pass breakups and 58 tackles.

Vince Biegel made the third-team this season after being a second-team selection a year ago. The junior linebacker notched 14 tackles for loss and eight sacks to go along with 64 tackles.

TJ Edwards, Darius Hillary, Tanner McEvoy, Chikwe Obasih and Sojourn Shelton were all honorable mention selections.

The offensive awards will be unveiled on Tuesday.

Powered by Frankly