Badgers Hayes named to Karl Malone Power watch list - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Badgers Hayes named to Karl Malone Power watch list

Posted: Updated:

MADISON, Wis. (Per UW Athletics)  – Already tabbed as the 2016-17 Big Ten Preseason Player of the Year, senior forward Nigel Hayes was also named to the watch list for the 2017 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Thursday.

Hayes enters his final campaign with the Badgers having already established himself as one of the most accomplished players in program history. A consensus first-team All-Big Ten selection in 2016, Hayes prides himself on being a versatile player, which is evident when considering that he joined UW great Michael Finley as the only Badgers in program history to tally at least 1,000 points, 500 rebounds and 200 assists by their junior season.

Wisconsin’s leading scorer last season, Hayes was one of only three Big Ten players to average at least 15.0 points, 5.0 rebounds and 3.0 assists per game. He has played in 113 career games, including 75 starts.

The list of career accolades continues to grow for Hayes, which also includes 2016 US Basketball Writers Association All-District, 2015 third team All-Big Ten, 2014 Big Ten Sixth Man of the Year and 2014 Big Ten All-Freshman Team. The Toledo, Ohio, native is also a two-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree (2015, ’16).

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Malone and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.  The winner of the 2017 Karl Malone Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards in Los Angeles, California, on Friday, April 7, 2017.Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Previous winners of the Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award include Georges Niang, Iowa State (2016) and Montrezl Harrell, Louisville (2015).

2017 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award Candidates

Lauri Markkanen – Arizona

Ivan Rabb – California

Amile Jefferson – Duke

Jonathan Isaac – Florida St.

Yante Maten – Georgia

Carlton Bragg Jr. – Kansas

Robert Carter – Maryland

Dedric Lawson – Memphis

Miles Bridges – Michigan St.

Isaiah Hicks – North Carolina

Bonzie Colson – Notre Dame

Michael Young – Pittsburgh

Caleb Swanigan – Purdue

Tyler Lydon – Syracuse

TJ Leaf – UCLA

Bennie Boatwright – USC

Alec Peters – Valparaiso

Kris Jenkins – Villanova

Austin Nichols – Virginia

Nigel Hayes – Wisconsin

*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2016-17 season

Powered by Frankly