Super Bowl champs Allen, Maragos to be honored Sunday in Madison - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Super Bowl champs Allen, Maragos to be honored Sunday in Madison

Posted: Updated:

MADISON, Wis. – Wisconsin football alumni Beau Allen and Chris Maragos will be honored Sunday for their roles in the Philadelphia Eagles’ run to the Super Bowl LII title. The duo will be recognized during the Wisconsin men’s basketball team’s game vs. No. 2 Michigan State at the Kohl Center, which tips off at noon.

Allen and Maragos will take part in a news conference prior to the game, at approximately 11:15 a.m. in the Kohl Center media room.

Taken by the Eagles in the 2014 NFL Draft, Allen completed his fourth season with the team and recorded a pair of tackles in Philadelphia’s win over the New England Patriots in Super Bowl LII.

Part of three Big Ten championship teams at Wisconsin, Allen appeared in a then-school record 54 games during his four-year career, including 27 starts. He spent three seasons as a defensive tackle before shifting to nose guard with UW’s move to a 3-4 defensive alignment in 2013. Allen earned All-Big Ten honorable mention twice and was named Academic All-Big Ten three times.

After entering the league as an unsigned free agent, Maragos completed his fourth season with Philadelphia and eighth NFL season overall in 2017. A team captain, Maragos saw action in the Eagles’ first six games this season before being placed on injured reserve due to a knee injury.

The Racine, Wisconsin, native was a walk-on when he joined the Badgers prior to the 2007 season after spending two seasons as a walk-on at Western Michigan. Maragos became a key player on defense and all four special teams units in 2008 and was a starting safety as a senior in 2009, leading the team with four interceptions to go along with six pass breakups and 49 tackles.

Allen and Maragos were joined on the Eagles’ championship squad by rookie running back and fellow UW product Corey Clement. The trio are among eight former Badgers who have won Super Bowl titles over the last five seasons.

--Wisconsin Athletic Communications

Powered by Frankly