Handful of districts see school safety grants - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Handful of districts see school safety grants

Posted: Updated:

WISCONSIN DELLS (WKOW) -- Nearly two dozen school districts in the state will see new safety improvements. Wisconsin Attorney General Brad Schimel is awarding $1.3 million in school safety grants.

A handful of districts like Barneveld, Benton, La Farge and Rock County Christian School will get thousands of dollars to put toward upgrading safety procedures. It’s part of a $100 million grant state lawmakers approved to help schools take steps to prevent a mass shooter from getting inside a classroom.

Several school officials, lawmakers and law enforcement officers gathered in the Dells to make the announcement. Districts will be able to use the money towards securing entrances and hiring a school safety officer, but also for mental health treatment.

Schools who received a grant will work directly with law enforcement agencies to ensure the protocols and safety plans are effective and up to date to keep a safe learning environment.

“We can’t leave any school vulnerable, if we're going to do this every school is on board so every school is safe and none of them becomes that target,” said Schimel.

Over the next few weeks, more districts will be awarded grants to upgrade their safety protocols. Schimel says in addition to helping keep school safe from violent attacks, the DOJ will keep an eye out on a district's ability to pay for products like door locks and shatter-proof glass.

Following is a list of schools that have been awarded school safety grants.

·         Barneveld School District, $38,949;

·         Benton School District, $57,975;

·         Big Foot Unified High School District, $13,975;

·         Bristol #1 School District, $22,925;

·         Crivitz School District, $20,000;

·         Kettle Moraine School District, $190,395;

·         Kewaskum School District, $106,347;

·         La Farge School District, $53,352;

·         Luck School District, $39,516;

·         Mauston School District, $188,275;

·         Prentice School District, $81,272;

·         Randall J1 School District, $21,935;

·         River Ridge School District, $55,000;

·         Rock County Christian School, $39,951;

·         St. Joseph School; $20,750;

·         Stevens Point Area Public School District, $279,827;

·         Trinity Evangelical Lutheran School, $18,334;

·         Union Grove J1 School District, $19,872;

·         Wautoma Area School District, $84,435;

·         Williams Bay School District, $28,960.

Powered by Frankly