Iowa-Grant among area school districts to receive latest round o - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Iowa-Grant among area school districts to receive latest round of school security grants

Posted: Updated:

GREEN BAY (WKOW) --  Several area school districts received safety grants today during an announcement from Attorney General Brad Schimel.

Area districts including Iowa-Grant, Cassville and North Crawford were among 40 schools and school districts to receive part of the $2.8 in awards.

The awards were announced July 10, at Notre Dame de la Baie Academy in Green Bay.

“School officials and law enforcement share the responsibility in keeping our kids safe when they leave their homes every day,” Schimel said in a news release. “These grant funds will establish a meaningful way to improve school safety through a focus on mental health training for school faculty and physical improvements to school buildings.”

Grant dollars are divided into two categories: the Primary School Safety Grant and Advanced School Safety Grant.

DOJ’s Primary School Safety Grants focus on baseline improvements to schools, including door locks and hardening school entryways.

The Advanced School Safety Grants are awarded to schools that have met minimum security thresholds.

In addition to making upgrades to school buildings, one of the School Safety Grant prerequisites is providing all full-time teachers, aides, counselors, and administrators with a minimum of three hours combined training in Adverse Childhood Experiences and Trauma Informed Care/Trauma Sensitive Schools before the end of the 2018-2019 school year; or demonstrate that staff has already received such training. Highlights from the school safety grant applications  include such improvements as:

  • ·         Training for all staff on Trauma Informed Care (TIC), Trauma Sensitive Schools (TSS), Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACE), Peaceful Warriors, PREPaRE, Threat Assessment and Active Shooter Response training (ALICE);
  • ·         Attending Nonviolent crisis training and purchasing of reference flip charts and response kits;
  • ·         Increase two-way communications throughout the entire school through handheld radios, radio repeater system, emergency communication system, and public address system upgrades;
  • ·         Allow for the purchase of reflective safety vests, fire escape ladders, door security bars, safety strobe lighting, additional outdoor lighting, and bollard barricades and perimeter fencing/gates including around playgrounds;
  • ·         Add/improve internal and external security cameras/video surveillance and system software including parking lots;
  • ·         Secure the entry areas, sidelites, and interior classroom windows with shatter resistant film, updated doors and locks;
  • ·         Allow for more secure entrances to gymnasiums, libraries, and cafeterias;
  • ·         Allow for the remodeling of entrances and vestibule/visitor holding;
  • ·         Improve visitor screening and entryways through adding key card/keyless access, video monitoring, and access control door entry system;
  • ·         Enhance security software to include panic buttons for both law enforcement and parents;
  • ·         Updating internal classroom and entrances with locks that lock from the inside, including remote lockdown; and,
  • ·         Labeling exterior vinyl numbers on the exterior of all building so that first responders can identify a specific area.

Grant applicants are required to partner with law enforcement agencies to ensure that proposed expenditures, visitor protocols, and school safety plans will be effective and provide students with the safest learning environment possible.

In addition to helping keep schools safe from violent attacks, DOJ will be closely monitoring for behavior that could affect a school’s ability to pay market rates for products like door locks and shatter-resistant film for glass. DOJ will review and investigate any instances of inappropriate pricing behavior so the benefits of the program are not reduced.

List of schools awarded grants on July 10, 2018:

·         Athens School District, $61,437;

·         Baldwin-Woodville Area School District, $40,900;

·         Bangor School District, $39,957;

·         Cassville School District, $38,930;

·         Central Wisconsin Christian Schools (Waupun), $19,822;

·         Clear Lake School District, $41,839;

·         Goodman-Armstrong Creek School District, $40,073;

·         Immanuel Evangelical Lutheran School (Greenville), $20,075;

·         Iowa-Grant School District, $41,785;

·         Kimberly Area School District, $180,000;

·         Melrose-Mindoro School District, $59,316;

·         Menominee Indian School District, $55,817;

·         Menomonie Area School District, $168,808;

·         Minocqua J1 School District, $60,000;

·         New Holstein School District, $59,993;

·         Niagara School District, $42,177;

·         North Crawford School District, $40,440;

·         Northland Pines School District, $132,746;

·         Notre Dame de la Baie Academy, $22,700;

·         Our Lady of the Lake Catholic School (Ashland), $20,560;

·         Owen-Withee School District, $66,585;

·         Peshtigo School District, $59,997;

·         Port Edwards School District, $62,062;

·         Rhinelander School District, $119,295;

·         Rice Lake Area School District, $114,268;

·         Saint Ignatius of Loyola Catholic School, $18,782;

·         Saint Luke's Lutheran School (Oakfield), $15,962;

·         Saint Mary Catholic School (Mayville), $9,255;

·         Saint Matthew Grade School (Campbellsport), $21,500;

·         Sheboygan Area School District, $492,032;

·         St. John Nepomucene School (Little Chute), $17,140;

·         St. Joseph Catholic School (Fort Atkinson), $20,000;

·         St. Paul Lutheran School (Luxemburg), $7,062;

·         St. Paul's Lutheran School (Howards Grove), $19,056;

·         Syble Hopp School, $19,312;

·         Three Lakes School District, $86,749;

·         Washington Island School District, $36,760;

·         Wausau School District, $406,194;

·         Winneconne Community School District, $51,997;

·         Wittenberg-Birnamwood School District, $64,275.

Powered by Frankly