Governor Doyle announces $6.6 million in flood relief - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Governor Doyle announces $6.6 million in flood relief

Madison (WKOW) -- from WI Governor's Office:  Governor Doyle announced Wednesday that 13 counties have been awarded $4.5 million in federal Community Development Block Grant Program (CDBG) funds to help low and moderate income residents rehabilitate homes damaged by the June 2008 funding. 

  An additional $2.1 million in CDBG funds has been awarded to six counties to provide assistance to small businesses.

  "Wisconsin's people, communities, and businesses reacted to the natural disasters this summer with spirit, hard work, and generosity," Governor Doyle said.  "I am pleased that my Department of Commerce could set aside these funds from existing resources to help families and businesses recover from the worst flooding in our state's history."

  Governor Doyle announced the preliminary awards based on the housing needs counties were able to identify at this time and expects to award additional grants.

  Counties receiving housing rehabilitation assistance grants are as follows:

Adams             $198,000

Columbia         $500,000

Dodge             $500,000

Fond du Lac    $500,000

Green Lake     $275,000

Iowa                 $275,000

Juneau            $275,000

La Crosse       $198,000

Marquette        $275,000

Racine             $220,000

Rock                $500,000

Sauk                $500,000

Vernon             $275,000

  In addition, Commerce developed a new Flood Recovery Small Business (FRSB) Loan Program in collaboration with its local partners to:

  • Provide low-cost, easy-to-access financing to small businesses affected physically or economically by

the floods;

  • Enable small businesses to remain and thrive in the communities;
  • Allow resources to be deployed as quickly as possible; and
  • Allow the funds to be strategically targeted in areas where most needed.

  The counties will loan the funds to businesses affected by the June floods with fewer than 50 employees for working capital and equipment.  

  Commerce received applications to implement the FRSB Program from six disaster-declared counties: Columbia, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Jefferson, Sauk, and Vernon. 

  These counties have also garnered financial support from their CDBG revolving loan funds to support the program.

  Nearly 60 percent of the rural businesses seeking assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Administration are located in these counties.

  Businesses seeking assistance in these counties should contact their county economic development coordinators.

Counties receiving business assistance grants under the FRSB Loan Program are as follows:

Columbia:        $568,000        

Dodge             $160,000

Food du Lac    $300,000

Jefferson         $320,000

Sauk                $518,000

Vernon             $300,000

Powered by Frankly