Baldwin is co-chair for inauguration - WKOW 27: Madison, WI Breaking News, Weather and Sports

Baldwin is co-chair for inauguration

Photo courtesy Photo courtesy

WASHINGTON (AP) -- U.S. Rep. Tammy Baldwin has been named an honorary co-chair for the inauguration of President-elect Barack Obama.

  The Madison, Wis. Democrat is among 15 co-chairs, which also include former presidents Jimmy Carter, George H. W. Bush and Bill Clinton, General Colin Powell, relatives of Obama and Vice President-elect Joe Biden, and members of Congress from both parties.

  The Presidential Inaugural Committee has not finalized what role the co-chairs will play in the Jan. 20 inauguration, but described the group as "prominent Americans from both sides of the aisle who have dedicated their lives to selfless service to their fellow citizens."

Powered by Frankly